Wa Wa Wa

Why I Like Voidrun (Game Review Kinda)

The universe if full of life! Oh no! It’s up to you to get rid of it by surrounding lifeforms with your void balls!

Voidrun is one of those games whose trailers I watched repeatedly until I’ve got to play it.

As the trailer made me suspect, and playing the game proved, it’s as if a game designer asked me what would I like in a game, and then designed something accordingly. Here’s what I like about the game:

Genre: Bullet Hell + Line-Drawing

The game is a bullet hell - an action game where you have to avoid many enemies and their shots. This is a genre I find extremely fun, and this specific game is a good, unique variation of it.

Also, it borrows from the mainly retro genre of line-drawing/area-cutting games (like Volfied), which is a nice dose of nostalgia.

Unique & Original

While the game does belong to specific genres, it also brings its own twists.

Yes, it’s a bullet hell, but it’s a unique combination of that and line-drawing. Yes, it’s a line-drawing game, but you have to surround enemies with your limited supply of void balls and collect them when you’re done.

I can recommend other games to people who likes this game, but I don’t know any other game like this one.

Tight Game Mechanics

This is a simple to learn, hard to master game. You’ll learn everything you need quickly, but it’ll take you time to hone your skill.

Also, it includes a one-mechanism-multiple-purposes thing, which I like - your void balls are both your offensive tool (you use them to surround enemies) and defensive tool (deployed void balls block enemy shots).

The enemies are also interesting and unique, each bringing their own challenges to the game.

Retro Aesthetic

I’m a sucker for 8bit stuff and pixel art. Voidrun uses pixel art and a minimalist palette to achieve a well-honed retro look.

It Is HARD

I don’t look for difficulty in every game I play, but when it comes to SHMUPS I really do.

Voidrun, I’m happy to say, is not an easy game. You’ll need to try and try again and develop your skills in order to succeed. Be prepared for a challenge.

Quality Chiptune Soundtrack

The soundtrack is a fun 8bit affair, and it fits the game perfectly. I like it enough to listen to it playing outside of the game.

Conclusion

If you like arcade/action games and appreciate a challenge, play this.


Let’s talk about this: [e-mail] [Facebook]

#blaugust #games