Wa Wa Wa

Watching Buffy for the First Time

I recently started to watch Buffy for the first time. I didn’t watch it as a kid or a teenager, so when I saw it available in a streaming service, I decided to check what the fuss was about.

I’m almost two seasons in, and it actually aged better than I’ve expected such a show to. It feels very, very 90s and I completely understand why it was a hit at the time.

It’s a bit campy, and that’s a good thing - I like campy things, and I think this is one of the main reasons it aged well. Consider the Batman series from the 60s - it’s a good watch imo BECAUSE it is peak campiness. It won’t deteriorate much if it was made “bad” on purpose.

Seeing a TV’s high school, stereotypical characters and popularity talks and all that, reminds me how much I prefer being an adult over being a high school student. Those who said school will be the best time in my life lied.

Bottom line, it’s still a good series to watch after a workday - it’s fun and lighthearted. Let’s see what the later seasons bring - my friend said it gets better, but I’m skeptical.


Let’s talk about this: [e-mail] [Facebook]

#media