Wa Wa Wa

Smoking Breaks for Non-Smokers

I’m currently outside, having a smoking break. I don’t smoke.

For some reason, in office environments, it is mainly customary for smoking people to go outside during work hours for breaks.

Unless they go out to eat, non-smokers tend to remain in the office for the whole day, which frankly sounds unhealthy. Going outside for a short walk, or just to sit with your coffee in the outside air and sun, helps me to unwind a bit, get a little energy to help me with my work later.

It’s not that my workplace (or any of my previous office workplaces for that matter) won’t allow people to go outside, but somehow it’s rare for non-smokers to do so. When I went outside with other people, it was mainly with smokers for their smoking breaks.

I think breaks outside should be the norm for all people in jobs where it’s possible. If you can do it, I encourage you to try.


Let’s talk about this: [e-mail] [Facebook]

#misc