Wa Wa Wa

On the Relativity of Slopes

Until the beginning of my 20s, I lived in a mountainous city. I guess some will say that it's hilly, but on our national standards we'll call it mountainous.

One day I visited a friend in another city. That city was (relatively) flat.

Smartphones and Google Maps still weren't a thing, so I navigated the old school way by speaking to my friend on the phone and listening to his instructions. All was well until he told me a very unexpected sentence - "Now go uphill".

Me, the mountain dweller, looked around. There was no "uphill" in sight. I told him that. He insisted.

After a few minutes of back and forth, I tilted my head and looked hard. My efforts were successful as I finally saw that the street was indeed, just-a-bit, maybe, uphill-ish.

I've been living in flat cities for a long time now, and my tiny-slope-vision improved. Today I wouldn't argue with that friend that his uphill is a uphill, but I find it amusing that what one defines as a slope, is a correction-error-level event to another.


Let’s talk about this: [e-mail] [Facebook]

#blaugust #life